Contribute Now




The Society of the Cincinnati Prize recognizes the author of an outstanding work that advances understanding of the American Revolution and its legacy. Established in 1989 as a triennial award, the prize is now presented annually. Recipients have included leading historians as well as rising scholars in the field. The prize was created with a generous endowment gift from the family of Dr. H. Bartholomew Cox. For more information about the Society of the Cincinnati Prize, contact .

Current Recipient

The 2018 Society of the Cincinnati Prize was awarded to Eric Hinderaker, Distinguished Professor of History at the University of Utah, for his book Boston's Massacre (Harvard University Press, 2017). Boston's Massacre is the first major study of that famous event published in nearly fifty years. Professor Hinderaker reconstructs the events that led to the deadly confrontation of March 5, 1770, and explains how patriots placed the event at the center of a narrative of British tyranny, premeditated violence, and indifference to the lives of Britain's colonial subjects—galvanizing resistance to British authority. Professor Hinderaker argues that the conflicts and discrepancies between contemporary accounts make constructing an authoritative narrative of the critical minutes of escalating urban violence impossible, but that what is most important is how the patriots subsequently constructed a narrative of oppression out of the events of those critical minutes. What people believed had happened, he contends, ultimately proved far more important that what actually occurred.

Eric Hinderaker is a scholar of early British America with particular interest in comparative colonization, European-Indian relations, and the nature of early modern empires. He is also the author of The Two Hendricks: Unraveling a Mohawk Mystery (2010) and Elusive Empires: Constructing Colonialism in the Ohio Valley, 1673-1800 (1997) and co-author with Peter C. Mancall of At the Edge of Empire: The Backcountry in British North America (2003).

Cox Book Prize

Past Recipients

  • 2013

    Benjamin L. Carp
    Defiance of the Patriots: The Boston Tea Party and the Making of America
    New Haven: Yale University Press, 2010
  • 2010

    Matthew H. Spring
    With Zeal and With Bayonets Only: The British Army on Campaign in North America, 1775-1783
    Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2008
  • 2007

    Alan Taylor
    The Divided Ground: Indians, Settlers, and the Northern Borderland of the American Revolution
    New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2006
  • 2004

    Elizabeth Fenn
    Pox Americana: The Great Smallpox Epidemic of 1775-1782
    New York: Hill and Wang, 2001
  • 2001

    Saul Cornell
    The Other Founders: Anti-Federalism and the Dissenting Tradition in America
    Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1999
  • 1998

    Jack N. Rakove
    Original Meanings: Politics and Ideas in the Making of the Constitution
    New York: Knopf, 1996
  • 1995

    Stanley M. Elkins and Eric L. McKitrick
    The Age of Federalism
    New York: Oxford University Press, 1993
  • 1992

    Peter D.G. Thomas
    Tea Party to Independence: The Third Phase of the American Revolution
    New York: Oxford University Press, 1991
  • 1989

    Bernard Bailyn
    Voyagers to the West: A Passage in the Peopling of America on the Eve of the Revolution
    New York: Knopf, 1986