Contribute Now

About   Organization


Organized in Elizabethtown, New Jersey, June 11, 1783

Established just one month after the founding of the Society of the Cincinnati, the New Jersey Society was the third of the constituent societies formed and the first to be organized away from the main army cantonment in New York. On June 11, 1783, Brig. Gen. Elias Dayton called a meeting of the officers of the New Jersey Line at Elizabethtown, New Jersey, to consider the proposals of the Society's Institution. After some deliberation, they voted to become members and elected their state officers: General Dayton, president; Lt. Col. Jonathan Forman, vice president; Rev. Andrew Hunter, secretary; Maj. Richard Cox, treasurer; and Dr. Ebenezer Elmer, assistant treasurer.

From its earliest years, the New Jersey Society has sponsored an annual lecture on the history and legacy of the American Revolution. Selections of these speeches were published by the New Jersey Society in From Oratory to Scholarship: Two Centuries of Talks on the American Revolution Given before the Society of the Cincinnati in the State of New Jersey (2008).

The New Jersey Society is one of only six of the constituent societies to have remained in continuous operation since its founding.

Society Officers

for the Triennium 2019 - 2022

  • President General

    William Pless Lunger
    North Carolina Society
  • Vice President General

    Frank Keech Turner, Jr.
    Maryland Society
  • Secretary General

    Joel Thomas Daves IV
    Virginia Society
  • Treasurer General

    Francis Ellerbe Grimball
    South Carolina Society
  • Assistant Secretary General

    William Postell Raiford
    North Carolina Society
  • Assistant Treasurer General

    Robert Mosby Turnbull
    Virginia Society