Contribute Now



The Society of the Cincinnati is an international organization with over 3,900 members who reside in the United States, France, and more than twenty-five other countries. The umbrella organization, known as the General Society of the Cincinnati, maintains its headquarters at Anderson House in Washington, D.C. The General Society is divided into fourteen constituent societies, established in each of the thirteen original states and France.

Each member generally belongs to the constituent society of which his Revolutionary War ancestor—known as his propositus—was or could have been a member. Each constituent society manages the admission of its own members according to the general principles established by the Society's founders. The members of individual constituent societies meet periodically to share fellowship, participate in programs, admit new members, and conduct other business. Each American constituent society is governed by elected officers and a standing committee (a counseil in France).

The members of the fourteen constituent societies are also members of the General Society. Every three years, delegates chosen by the fourteen constituent societies gather for a Triennial Meeting, which elects the officers of the General Society and conducts other business. Between Triennial Meetings, the General Society is governed by six officers and a Standing Committee consisting of a member and an alternate from each constituent society. The Standing Committee meets twice a year, typically in May and October.

The officers of the General Society, known as the General Officers, are the president general (who is limited to one three-year term), vice president general, secretary general, treasurer general, assistant secretary general, and assistant treasurer general.

The General Society is organized both as a private fraternal organization and, separately, as a non-profit corporation. The latter conducts the library, education, museum, and other programs of the Society. The General Officers serve as officers of the corporation, and the members and alternate members of the General Society Standing Committee constitute the corporation's Board of Directors.

Society Officers

for the Triennium 2019 - 2022

  • President General

    William Pless Lunger
    North Carolina Society
  • Vice President General

    Frank Keech Turner, Jr.
    Maryland Society
  • Secretary General

    Joel Thomas Daves IV
    Virginia Society
  • Treasurer General

    Francis Ellerbe Grimball
    South Carolina Society
  • Assistant Secretary General

    William Postell Raiford
    North Carolina Society
  • Assistant Treasurer General

    Robert Mosby Turnbull
    Virginia Society